The Commandments

The Ten Commandments

The Ten Commandments were issued by God to Moses and the People of Israel on Mount Sinai in the desert (Exodus 20:2-17). Moses later reminded the people of Israel of them when they were in the land of Moab beyond the Jordan (Deuteronomy 5:6-21). The Ten Commandments are:

Moses Receiving the Tables of the Law (detail), Tintoretto (1560-1562)

I am the LORD your God: you shall not have strange Gods before me.

You shall not take the name of the LORD your God in vain.

Remember to keep holy the LORD’S Day.

Honor your father and your mother.

You shall not kill.

You shall not commit adultery.

You shall not steal.

You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor.

You shall not covet your neighbor’s wife.

You shall not covet your neighbor’s goods.

The Two Great Commandments

The Two Great Commandments were issued by Our Lord to Israel and the world when He was in Jerusalem (Matthew 22:34-40, Mark 12:28-34, Luke 10:25-28). The Two Great Commandments are:

Christ and the Rich Young Ruler (detail), Hofmann (1889)

Love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your mind.

You shall love your neighbor as yourself.

The New Commandment

The New Commandment was issued by Our Lord to His Apostles and His Church the night before His Passion and Death (John 13:34-35). The New Commandment is:

The Conversion of Mary Magdalene (detail), Paolo Veronese (1548)

“A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another; even as I have loved you, that you also love one another. By this all men will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.”