The Five Precepts of the Church

The Five Precepts of the Church (also known as the Commandments of the Church) are considered the minimum standard way of life required by all Catholics.1, 2 They are:

Jesus gives Peter the keys to Heaven, Pieter Paul Rubens (1614)

You shall attend Mass on Sundays and on holy days of obligation and remain free from work or activity that could impede the sanctification of such days.

You shall confess your sins at least once a year.

You shall receive the sacrament of the Eucharist at least during the Easter season.

You shall observe the days of fasting and abstinence established by the Church.

You shall help to provide for the needs of the Church.